AMU leaders to undergo leadership training in Addis Ababa

The Ministry of Education has organized 15-day leadership training program exclusively for the senior academic staff of universities spread across Ethiopia. The training begins today - July 26, 2013, at Civil Service University in Addis Ababa.

The authority has shortlisted 56 senior staff members, President, Vice-Presidents, Deans, Directors and heads of the respective departments for the training from Arba Minch University.

This is the first ever training organized in the recent years to enhance the leadership skills of senior academic staff and department heads of the higher education institutions. Apparently, this training is meant to hone the leadership skills i.e. how to make the optimum use of their staff and available resources for the best of their institutions etc.

AMU’s first batch consisting of 27 members has already headed for the training starting from July 26, 2013, at Civil Service University in Addis Ababa. The second contingent of 29-member will resume their training from August 14, informed the Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr Agena Anjulo.

The first batch include Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr Agena Anjulo, Vice President for Administration and Development, Dr Kassa Tadele, Head for Academic Program Evaluation and Implementation office, Mr Zenebe Zewedie, Scientific Director from Institute of Technology, Dr Negash Wagesho, College of Natural Science Dean, Dr Alemayehu Hailemachaiel, College of Business and Economics Dean, Dr Solomon Markos, Post-Graduate School Dean, Dr Abebe Habte, College of Medicine and Health Sciences Dean, Mr Behailu Merdekios, College of Agriculture Dean, Dr Nejib Mohammad and 18 heads from different departments.

AMU President, Dr Feleke Woldeyes will be heading the second batch that includes Vice President for Research and Community Services, Dr Guche Gulie, Students Service Centre Director, Dr Teshome Yirgu, Research Directorate Director, Dr Fantahun, Director for Community Services, Dr Alemayehu Taye and Dean of Social Science and Humanities, Mr Tesfaye Alemu and 23 departmental heads.

By Philips Joseph